Hobbies!

It can be hard to find time in the week to do some thing for YOU. It’s so easy for me to just come home from work and play a game on my phone or spend all night watching Great British Bake Off but I really try to get away from a screen and have me time and do something I enjoy. At the very least, I try to do those things on the weekends! Below are 10 hobbies/activities that bring me joy!

Writing

(for obvious reasons)

Reading

(another obvious one)

Playing guitar

I taught myself a few chords and simple songs a while back and took a guitar class for an easy credit in college. Even though I’m a beginner, I still love playing the few songs I know. It’s a great feeling making music and connecting with an instrument.

Hiking

Hiking always clears my mind and even though it’s tiring, I feel so rejuvenated after hitting the trails!

Handlettering

Ever since I was in elementary school, I loved handlettering (even though I didn’t know that’s what it was called!) Now I love watching brush lettering videos on instagram and lettering random words with pretty pens. It’s super relaxing and fun!

 

 

Camping

I love camping!! I love campfire conversations, playing games by lantern & citronella candle light, and waking up early and drinking hot chocolate. I realllllly need to do more of this, hopefully next summer!

Baking

One dream of mine is to open a bakery that specializes in dairy free desserts! Vegan bakeries and specialty shops are gaining more popularity but I’m not vegan… I just can’t tolerate dairy! I think a lot of people are in the same boat and I think a lot of people see the word “vegan” and are immediately turned off. Anyway, even if I don’t open up a bakery someday, I still love to bake and try new recipes! I’m excited that the holidays are here so I can start the dessert overload!

Puzzles

Crossword, jigsaw, riddles, what have you. I LOVE THEM. In high school, I spent an entire winter break finishing a Winnie the Pooh PhotoMosaic puzzle and it was the best!! No regrets. My mom and I used to commandeer the coffee table in our living room to solve jigsaw puzzles and it was so much fun… I think I know what to put on my Christmas list now lol.

Hair & Makeup

Okay, another dream of mine would be to become a Hair & Makeup Artist – specializing in POC. As a bride to be, I had SUCH a hard time choosing someone to do my hair and makeup. It’s pretty frustrating to scour through instagram feeds and website galleries and only see photos of blonde, fair skinned women. It made it so difficult because I didn’t know if that person had experience with thick hair or darker skin and this was for my wedding! I’ve had countless experiences with hair dressers and make up artists who I’ve walked away from not loving my look because I just don’t think they worked much with my hair type & skin tone. Which is okay but for real, we need more people who have. I love experiminting with different ways of styling my hair and I’m not as into makeup as I used to be (#lazy), still, I’m definitely into making other people feel pretty!

Geocaching

I have Krystal to thank for this one. The first time Krystal and I hung out, we took a drive to Coeur D’Alene and got lunch and then geocached! We got to the spot and we were searching and I don’t exactly remember how she described it could look, but I remember reaching into a big pipe and saying, “well I saw this?” And it was definitely the geocache haha. I love that the term “muggles” worked its way into the community and it’s so fun scavenging for something when you’re not entirely sure of what you’re searching for.

 

 


What activities bring you joy? How do you make time for them outside the hustle and bustle?

Leave a comment